A Nurse’s Prayer / My Day

A Nurse’s Prayer

Be me in the world.
Be my voice to the deaf.
Be my faith where there is doubt.
Be my hope where there is despair.
Be my light where there is darkness.
Be my joy where there is sadness.
Be me in the world.
Be my eyes to the blind.
Be my consolation to those who need to be consoled.
Be my understanding to those who need to be understood.
Be my healing to those who need to healed.
Be my love to those who need love.
Be my forgiveness to those who need to be forgiven.
Be my death to those who need me.
Be me in the world.

– Author Unknown –

I stumbled across this not long ago, and saved it into a Word document as I normally do when something catches my eye (or heart, in this case).

I strive to achieve what this piece of work is all about.  Unfortunately as some of you are aware (fellow nursing professional, or experienced as a patient, or even family member of a patient) with the nursing shortages, increased responsibilities and roles, and the same amount of hours in a day (haha) this type of nursing isn’t always achievable and realistic.

Today was an exception.  If you’ve read my [about] “the girl” section, you will have seen I work on three different floors: respiratory, general internal med/stroke, and oncology/palliative.  AKA “Float RN”.  Today, I was pre-booked on the general internal medicine/stroke floor for day shift.  Last time I was on this particular floor, I had the assignment straight from hell.  We do 0730-1930/1930-0730, so to put this into perspective… that day I didn’t leave until 2015.  A lot of my patients were under the care of what they call “CTU” – Clinical Teaching Unit.  A few MDs oversee the practice of residents and guide/teach med students. So we often joke on the floor that if a patient is under CTU, they are guinea pigs… these Residents and med students practice and put the patient through a slew of tests/procedures/medication changes that would often be deemed not necessary by other “experienced” MDs.  Don’t get me wrong, some of the Residents and (eager) med students are wonderful to work with.  However, the resident I had to deal with that day shift was not.  I literally gave this particular resident my patients chart and said “take this; go do what you have to do.  But do NOT give this chart back to me unless you’re 110% certain of the orders you are writing”.  Why?  Because I do not recall how many times I processed orders and medications, only to have the resident come back to D/C things and reorder something new to try.  I got fed up; otherwise I probably would not have “snapped” on the resident the way I did.  But my poor patient was going through all these things for what? It seemed like torture at the time. So I had to advocate on the patients behalf (+1 nursing point for that, haha).

Image
Anyways, back to what I was talking about before I got majorly sidetracked (you’ll notice I do that a lot… I rant).  Today was a fabulous day, in that my patients had responsible MDs, nothing too serious happened (**), and the patients were all rather pleasant to work with.  I did however, feel like a legal drug pusher… all 5 patients were on heavy narcotics and relied on them.  But that’s besides the point… I felt like for once in a long time, I was able to actually spend more than 5 minutes at a time in a room to do things other than perform nursing tasks.  I was able to spend time speaking  and getting to know my patients better.  It felt empowering somehow. It felt as if I was in 1st year of the BScN program all over again – except with way more knowledge and less apprehension. 🙂

** except for my patient who was having what’s called “Complex partial seizures”?? our charge nurse called it “complex simple seizure” (no idea). –but weirdest. thing. ever. She was able to vocalize when she felt like she was going to have a seizure, then went completely limp, unresponsive, motionless/flaccid extremeties, and her breathing pattern changed as in she became apneic. Pupils were nonreactive to light, yet her vitals would remain stable and telemetry would not pick up any abnormal rhythms.  I am actually curious to follow-up when the neurologist is consulted on Wednesday.  I have never seen anything like it.  Has anyone??

So, I must post a take-away question to see if I get any interesting responses.  Can anyone relate to what I’ve posted about tonight? You don’t even have to be a nursing professional yourself.  Any life experiences that you’d be interested in sharing, please do! 🙂

I apologize how sporadic and disorganized this entry is … maybe I shouldn’t blog after a long 13 hour day? (No I didn’t miscalculate that; I was at the hospital for 13 hours today) …

♔ Kimmie.L

2 thoughts on “A Nurse’s Prayer / My Day

  1. I am an ER nurse and I can relate! I love those (very occasional) days when the doctors are good, nothing too serious happens, the patients are pleased and I have more time to share with them than minutes spent with needles and narcotics. The best thing I know is when the computer system is down (planned or unplanned) and it feels like I have all the time in the world to spend with my patients. Even if I have to pay for it later with a backlog of documentation

    Haven’t seen any complex partial seizures, that’s interesting. I have seen a lot of faked ones 😉

    • I am keeping my eye out for full-time emerg postings at the internal job board. Part of my 4th year consolidation I did Emerg and ICU… I loved it! The acuity and fast-paced nursing is such a thrill! 🙂 How long have you been an emerg nurse for??

      Thanks for checking out my blog as well!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

